Zoeva Shine Brush Set

zoeva-shine-brush-set

It’s time for the long overdue review on my Zoeva Shine brush set. I am pretty sure everyone who’s seen the brushes online/ in store agree that if there’s one word to describe their brushes it would be: GORGEOUS. Yes, all their sets especially the rose golden ones are so pretty to have. Although, they have been so many cheap dupes of Zoeva brushes online, so only buy from your trusted sites. In Indonesia, Zoeva is officially available at Sephora Indonesia Digital.

Okay, the one I have here is pretty special, I received this set as Christmas gift from the mother-in-law (how lucky!) and it was a Christmas exclusive sets for Selfridges. This set comes with a silver pouch and is consisted of 6 brushes: 102 Silk Finish Brush, 127 Luxe Sheer Cheek Brush, 142 Concealer Buffer Brush, 227 Luxe Soft Definer Brush, 228 Luxe Crease Brush, and 317 Wing Liner brush.

First impressions

I have never owned any high-end brush, and even though Zoeva’s price point falls in the mid-range end… their brushes have the sturdiest-strongest handles compared to any other brushes I have. Most of the brushes are made of natural bristles, which would get softer after every wash but are only good for powder products. Now on to the brushes…

102 Silk Finish Brush

nyonya-102-zoeva-silk-finish-brush

This brush is made of synthetic bristles which I love and is meant to be used for blending cream products on your face like foundation, BB cream or concealer. Comparatively, if I may compare this to the Real Techniques Expert Brush, Zoeva feels so much softer, but it doesn’t feel as dense as the RT one. I would normally apply my foundation with my fingers, and blend endlessly with this brush to achieve a ‘silk finish’ that is.

142 Concealer Buffer Brush

nyonya-104-zoeva-concealer-brush

Again, I like to apply concealer with my fingers, and use this concealer brush to blend the result. This brush is also very useful for applying and blending cream shadows like the Maybelline Color Tattoo or MAC Paint Pot. This buffing brush is also good to blend any cream products on smaller areas of your face like the sides of your nose, apply cream countour for precise line and blend countouring in your nose.

317 Wing Liner Brush, 227 Luxe Soft Definer Brush, 228 Luxe Crease Brush

nyonya-zoeva-227-228-317-eye-brushes

Any Zoeva brush with ‘luxe’ on its name are made of natural bristles, this brush almost look like pencil brush with a pointed top, but it feels super soft on the skin. The pointy bits gives you precision to define and adds depth to your eye look. The luxe brushes do not pick up too much product which is great for build up and it does diffuse all the color and blends them perfectly.

The 227 Luxe Soft Definer blends like no other, a lot of beauty enthusiasts said this is the dupe of MAC 217, but damn if a dupe works this great… why bother spending so much? You can use this to apply color to the lid, blend any edges and you can practically use this one brush to create one neutral look.

317 Wing Liner Brush is so soft yet so stiff, like it won’t move and such a great use for gel eye liner, lining your shadows, I even use it to apply color for underneath my eyes before blend it in with 227 brush. I’d say these 3 with the concealer brush definitely makes a great set for eye brushes.

127 Luxe Sheer Cheek Brush

nyonya-zoeva-luxe-cheek-brush

This brush is probably my second favourite after the 227, I love to use this to apply bronzer on my lower cheek bones, or to apply blushers on my cheek. The natural bristles means that it picks up just enough products to be able to be built up nicely.

All in all, I am impressed with this whole set and if I can swap one thing, I would swap the 102 Silk Finish Brush with the 110 Face Shape Brush which I think will be more useful for me since I had already owned a few large buffing brushes. I have completely in love with the brand and I would definitely purchase more of Zoeva products in the future.

4 thoughts on “Zoeva Shine Brush Set

Leave a Reply

