Brand for Thoughts: Silkygirl

nyonya-silkygirlThis morning when I applied my lipliner and lipbalm on, I just realised that most of the products I used were from Silkygirl. I first thought Silkygirl was an Indonesian brand but I was wrong people…it’s Malaysian. They have a pretty wide range of products from makeup to fragrance to hair-coloring. Without further ado, let me show you what I have got:

Silkygirl Eau de Toilette ‘Loving You’

nyonya-silkygirl-edt

I got this quite sometime ago from a friend who received it as promotional item. I think if you buy it, it’ll cost about Rp 40,000-Rp 50,000. Pretty cheap for what it is. The smell is rather sweet but not too sweet (confuse, yet?) It’s just nice for daily use and me living in a tropical country with commute involving a bike ride through polluted Jakvegas, the smell stayed pretty well until I arrived at work and a few hours after. I’d say buy this when you are looking for an affordable perfume to use everyday  or a simple gift for a dear girl friend.

Silkygirl lipliner

I first bought the lipliner in ‘Rose’ in hoping that it will be pink-ish rosey like the packaging but MY GOD it was not. The rose color is much darker in application and it looks more like fuschia or dark pink. Works pretty good though, as a base for any lipstick that looks too pale on my medium skin tone.

Then I found the other shade ‘Mauve’ which is perfect for what I am looking for, just a neutral-ish pale color which suits most of my lipstick. I would happily wear it alone, too.

Silkygirl Moisture Boost Lipcolor Balm in Rose

I first heard about this when Alodita made a review here. That review lead me to a short trip to Guardian at lunch to purchase this. I don’t normally like using lipbalm, but its pretty good for dryer lips day when I need extra moisture in between my matte-lipstick-days. I also like using this on ‘lazy work day’, you know, that day when you just can’t be bothered to go to work. Swiping this lipbalm takes the least effort before heading through Jakarta’s concrete jungle.

I’d say out of these four, my favourite is the lipliner. I always prefer a retractable liner to pencil ones. Besides, the color are very pigmented on the lips without making my lips dry at all. Silkygirl hasn’t disappointed me so far and I might go try and buy some some other of their products.

Have you tried any of these? What do you think about the brand?

Much love,

S~

 

7 thoughts on “Brand for Thoughts: Silkygirl

    • Thanks for visiting! Just camped in your blog for a while it’s very fun to read, especially that I am coming to see the in laws for Christmas this year, that means I can actually buy some of the products you listed here x

      • I hope you have a great shopping trip in the UK! I expect to see a Haul post at some point around Christmas then! Thank you for reading! xx

  1. I didn’t know that Silkygirl is Malaysian brand 😃
    I never used any of the product, but I should buy some the next time I’m in Malaysia. Thanks for the info Stella. X

  2. Pingback: Whimsical Valentine Look | Nyonya Whitfield's

Leave a Reply

