Birthday Haul Favourites

Remember my first beauty post about birthday makeup haul I had on my birthday month? I listed 14 items in there, now after almost a month using them, I came to a conclusion that there are four products that I really enjoy using, and that actually worth spending on.

Real Techniques Core Collection

nyonya-best-birthday-real-techniques

For what it’s worth, this is one of the best purchase I have ever made on brushes. You got 4 brushes to create the perfect base. To be fair here though, when I first got them, they felt a bit sharp on the face but once I have washed it, damn they’re soft. I love using the buffing brush to buff powder foundation, or liquid foundation. Buffing your foundation continuously on your face will fill out your pores properly so even without primer, you would get a pretty good canvas for your face.

The pointed foundation brush is good for applying liquid foundation, although I find the size a little small, but it’s good to reach every little corner of your face like the side of your nose, the area around your lips, and good for under eye concealer too.

The contour brush is surprisingly multi-tasking. You can apply bronzer, blusher, and highlighter using this single brush by dipping the powder in a different side of the brush. Put the powder on the tip of the brush for bronzer, blusher on the side bit, and highlighter for the top-side bit. One brush for a perfect complexion.

nyonya-real-techniques-core-collection

The detailer brush was meant for concealer but I mostly using it with liquid lipstick. They are by far the best brush for applying lipstick because my other lip brushes are just sometimes too rough to bend over and follow the texture of my lips. I guess this will works for concealer to cover spots or redness too.

Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation in Golden Tan

I still love my NYX Stay Matte but Not Flat foundation but this is the first foundation that actually match my skintone. Beside the perfect shade, I don’t find anything too special about this foundation. I love the packaging of this though, it comes in a sturdy glass bottle with a lock in the pump. I love mixing this with my Olay Total Effects Day Cream, creating a tinted moisturizer to get a more sheer look for daily work days and apply it with the RT core collection buffing brush.

Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler

I don’t use mascara daily because I am too lazy to clean my eyes (guilty!) but I curl them with this and the curl lasts pretty long, like 4-5 hours? Pretty amazing, right. It’s positive now that I can’t live without them.

nyonya-best-birthday-purchase

The Balm Sexy Mama Translucent Powder

There’s again… nothing so special about this powder, it is definitely translucent and doesn’t leave any color cast at all. However it does pretty good job in holding up my lipstick. You know, coat your lipstick with translucent powder and it makes it last forever, ah well, not forever but longer than normal. It makes them kissproof as well! 🙂

The rest of the products I purchase were so-so, I have done a review on the eyeshadow and the mascara here, but other than that, it was mostly just impulsive buys.  I would definitely, definitely recommend the Real Techniques brushes to everyone though. I considered buying the travel essentials one but Alodita said the Core Collection is more useful since most of them are multi-task anyway. I would travel with this and my Ecotools Eye Enhancing Duo Set happily.

Any suggestion on brushes, and foundation, maybe? Also, fellow bloggers, kindly follow my blog with Bloglovin 🙂 I’ll definitely follow back!

xoxo,

S

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Haul Favourites

Leave a Reply

